Aren’t you lucky?

When i scraped my knee,
Down in the playground,
“Aren’t you lucky?”, she said to me.
“Luckier than others can hope to be…
The little girl in your class,
She doesn’t have an arm, alas!
An accident took it from her, you see.”

Fast forward a few years.

When my love broke-up with me,
I wept till my body shook,
“Aren’t you lucky?”, she said to me.
“Luckier than others can hope to be…
The girl down the lane,
He beat her with a cane!
Abusive man she married, you see.”

Fast forward a few years.

I miscarried my first child, oh my baby!
My world was over, forever, I thought.
“Aren’t you lucky?”, she said to me.
“Luckier than others can hope to be…
The woman at the shelter,
She has uterine cancer,
And can NEVER have ANY children, you see.”

Fast forward a few years.

My husband passed away in sleep, blissfully.
A tear rolled into my sleeping son’s hair.
“Aren’t you lucky?”, she said to me.
“Luckier than others can hope to be…
The woman shuffling along across the street,
Is widowed with debts from head to feet,
The man was a gambler, a rouge, you see.”

Fast forward a few years.

My grandson cried and ran to me,
Told me, ‘Grandma, I scraped my knee’.
With a smile and tear, I said gently,
“My child, you are luckier than others hope to be..
A caring mother to plaster your wound,
A sister and brother, waiting in the yard,
Blessed are those, with love in a family.”

(Part 1 of 2)

Leave a Reply

